Tuesday, January 7, 2014

The Stinging Fly Announces Short Story Competition for 2014

We are delighted to announce the return of Ireland's biggest short story competition: the Davy Byrnes Short Story Award 2014

€15,000 for the best short story plus five runner-up prizes of €1,000
Competition Judges: Anne Enright (right), Yiyun Li and Jon McGregor

Sponsored by Davy Byrnes and organised by The Stinging Fly in association with Dublin UNESCO City of Literature

—The competition is open to Irish citizens and to writers who are resident or were born in the thirty-two counties. Entries must consist of a previously unpublished short story written in English. The maximum word count is 15,000 words, no minimum. Only one story per entrant.

—We will be accepting entries from December 1st 2013. No online entries. Entries must be posted/delivered to Davy Byrnes Short Story Award, c/o Dublin UNESCO City of Literature, Dublin City Libraries, 138-144 Pearse Street, Dublin 2, Ireland.

—The deadline for receipt of entries is Monday Feb 3rd 2014. There is a €10 entry fee, payable online or by cheque/postal order.

—The six short-listed writers will be announced in late May/early June 2014 and the overall winner announced in June 2014.

We are very grateful to Redmond Doran of Davy Byrnes for the generous sponsorship, and to the office of Dublin UNESCO City of Literature for their support.

No comments:

Post a Comment